

Minutes of the 2009 BC Lacrosse Officials Association Special Session September 12, 2009 - Douglas College, New Westminster

In Attendance: Lee Brien, Alan Sleightholme, Gil Lowe, Heather Foulds, Terry Foulds, Mike Everett, Randy Sernagiotto, Sean Lehman, Rick Dolbec, Nick Thomas, Keith Gagne, Wilson Louie, Barry Kelly, Tim Brown, Jody Weatherby, Ed Moffat, Ryan Nose, Dan Mason, Ryan Mulligan, Cody Riddoch, Braden Wilkins, Katrina McCurrach, Craig Labranche, Keith Williams, Frank Pongracz, Andrea Jones, and Andrew Corbould

Note: As per our Operating Policy clubs not attending may be fined.

BCLOA/BCLCA - Joint Session

- 1. Joint Session Introductions:
 - Called to order at 9:10 am

Dennis Quigley of the BCLCA chaired this session.

Brent Boutilier of the BCLCA presented his monitoring of coach behavior by keeping a file on all game reports and is looking o introduce a 'three strikes' rule for transgressions by his coaches. Dennis Quigley raised the issue of cyber bullying. Anyone affected is suggested to call the RCMP.

Joint Session Adjournment

Adjournment at 10:30 am. Groups now split into own sessions.

BCLOA Special Session

1. Introductions.

Called to order 10:50 am Doug Wright presides over this session. Doug introduces the executive members in attendance and welcomes everyone!

2. Agenda

Minutes from the 2008 Special Session, no errors. Moved by Terry Foulds, seconded by Andrew Corbould. **Motion carried.**

3. <u>Reports</u>

- a) Chair **Report attached**
- b) Vice Chair, Minor -. Report attached
- c) Vice Chair, Senior Report attached
- d) Vice Chair, Men's Field Report attached
- e) BCLA Technical Director Report attached.
- f) Zone 8 Report attached.
- g) Minor Provincial Referee In Chief's:
- h) Bantam Report attached.

Motion to accept all reports as submitted. Moved by Ed Moffat, seconded by Andrew Corbould. **Motion carried.**

- 5. Operating Policy No changes proposed
- 6. Elections of Officers At the request of the chair Sean Lehman presides over the elections.
- a) Chair (two year term) Nominations: Doug Wright, Frank Pongraz and Terry Foulds Doug Wright lets his name stand Secretary casts 1 ballot Elected: Doug Wright

 b) Secretary (two year term) – Nominations: Heather Foulds, Lee Brien, Katrina McCurrach and Craig Labranche Lee Brien let his name stand Secretary casts 1 ballot Elected: Lee Brien

 c) Vice Chair Womens's Field (two year term) – Nominations: Andrea Jones. Andrea Jones lets her name stand. Secretary casts 1 ballot Elected: Andrea Jones

Motion to destroy ballots. Moved by Doug Wright, seconded by Gil Lowe. Motion carried.

7. New Business

- A. Evaluators Required for Senior Officials
- B. Volunteers Required for Zone 2 and Zone 7 Coordinator Positions
- C. Senior Liaison Members would like the position to expand and be formalized.
- D. Selection Committee Applications from 2009 will be destroyed baring any requests.
 - Earlier announcement of applications and deadlines to be in place for 2010.
 - Committee asked to notify applicants if they were not selected
 - Online application requested to be in place.
- E. Minor Provincials- Lists of referees requested from minor clubs
 - More recruitment required from Zone Coordinators.
 - More applicants encouraged due to a shortage.
 - Online application requested to be in place
- F. Head Referees Must know the referees they nominate for Provincials.
 Must inform the referee of their nomination
 Are asked to advertise the benefits of refereeing at a Provincial Tournament.
 Better communication with referees is asked.
 All minor clubs need to have a Head Referee in place.
 Need to be clarified by minor directorate and expanded on at clinics.
 Congratulations to: Katrina McCurrach, Braden Wilkins, Cody Riddoch and Kyle Parkyns for being selected for national and refereeing in their respective gold medal games.

8. <u>Adjournment</u> Motion to adjourn at 12:00 noon. Moved by Terry Foulds, seconded by Dan Mason.